# SpendMind review

> Voice-driven AI expense logger for iPhone and iPad with Apple Pay capture and charts
Source: https://budgetingapps.org/apps/spendmind (researched 2026-10-15). Research-based review, not hands-on testing.

*This listing is the iOS voice-driven expense tracker at spendmind.co. A different app with the same name exists from another developer.*

## Summary

SpendMind is an iPhone and iPad expense logger by an individual developer (Wajahat Hassan): you say an expense out loud, AI pulls out the amount, category and date, and you confirm it before saving. Version 1.2.7 (Oct 4 2026) adds saving in-shop Apple Pay payments through a short setup. It also has category charts, recurring expenses, separate 'Accounts' (books) for projects, receipt scanning, an AI chat, iCloud sync and CSV export. It tracks spending; budget limits or envelopes were not confirmed. Free download with a paid Pro tier.

**Best for:** iPhone users who want quick voice-based expense logging more than structured budgeting

## Key facts

- Website: https://www.spendmind.co/
- Price: $4.99/month; $69.99/year
- Rating: 2.5/5
- Free plan: yes
- Free trial: Free voice trial (length not stated); trial now follows the Apple ID
- Platforms: iOS
- Budgeting method: Expense tracking
- Founded: 2026
- Bank sync: No bank sync described; in-shop Apple Pay payments can be saved through a one-time setup (v1.2.7)
- Mobile apps: iOS app (iPhone/iPad), version 1.2.7 (Oct 4 2026); first released Feb 5 2026; requires iOS 17
- Import: No import found; CSV export (all data or one Account) and encrypted backup per the privacy policy
- Multiple budgets: Not applicable / not confirmed; separate 'Accounts' keep expenses for different projects apart
- Team: Individual developer: Wajahat Hassan
- Privacy: Data stays on device or in the user's iCloud; voice text goes to OpenAI's API (retained up to 30 days, not used for training, per policy); policy says data is never sold; App Store label: Data Not Collected (developer-declared)

## Features

- Envelope budgeting: not confirmed
- Automatic bank sync: not confirmed
- Manual transaction entry: yes
- Goal tracking: not confirmed
- Debt payoff tools: not confirmed
- Investment tracking: not confirmed
- Bill reminders: not confirmed
- Reports & charts: yes
- Multi-currency: yes
- Shared / household budgets: not confirmed
- Separate logins for shared budgets: not confirmed

## Pros

- Voice entry extracts amount, category and date, with a review step before saving.
- In-shop Apple Pay payments can be saved automatically after a short setup; the app sees only shop name and amount (v1.2.7).
- Data is stored on-device or in the user's own iCloud account; no account required.
- Separate Accounts keep spending for a trip, wedding or side business apart; CSV export can cover one Account or everything.
- Category charts, custom date ranges, month-over-month trends and recurring expense tracking.
- CSV export and encrypted backup are documented in the privacy policy.
- Active development: several releases a month from July to October 2026.
- Free to download; App Store privacy label says no data collected (developer-declared).

## Cons

- No budgets, limits or envelopes were confirmed; it is expense tracking rather than budget planning.
- Voice text is sent to OpenAI's API; the site's '100% Private' badge does not mention this, though the privacy policy does.
- Voice entry, recurring automation, advanced analytics and iCloud sync are Pro features; store listings disagree about whether manual entry and CSV export are free.
- iOS only (iPhone/iPad, Mac and Vision via iPad compatibility); no web or Android app for this product.
- Only 1 App Store rating and no independent coverage found; the app is under a year old.
- In-shop Apple Pay capture only; online Apple Pay payments must still be added by hand.
- No debt, credit-card or reconciliation features found; the vendor site publishes no prices (they come from the App Store).

## Our review

### Short version

SpendMind is an iPhone and iPad expense logger made by an individual developer. You say an expense out loud, AI pulls out the amount, category and date, and you confirm it before it is saved. It is closer to a spending diary than a budget: no category limits, envelopes or debt tools were confirmed. Version 1.2.7 adds saving in-shop Apple Pay payments after a roughly two-minute setup. Free download with a paid Pro tier.

**Quick profile, not a full review.** Refreshed 2026-10-09 from the vendor site, privacy policy and App Store listing and version history. This is research, not hands-on testing: I did not sign up, start a trial or connect a bank.

### Cost

- $4.99/month or $69.99/year (Pro, US App Store in-app purchases)

- Another storefront's listing shows Pro Monthly at $9.99, so price may vary by region or listing age

- Free to download; trial length not stated

- The vendor site says core features are free with optional premium subscriptions, while the US App Store says Pro unlocks voice entry, recurring automation, advanced analytics and iCloud sync; what is included free is unclear

### What is distinct

The focus is speed of capture: voice entry with a confirm step, receipt scanning, an AI chat to ask about your spending, and in-shop Apple Pay payments saved automatically with only shop name and amount visible to the app. Separate Accounts keep spending books for a trip or side project apart. Charts cover categories, date ranges and month-over-month trends; recurring expenses are tracked per cycle.

### Privacy notes

Expenses live on the device or in the user's own iCloud (CloudKit); the policy says the developer cannot see them and that data is never sold. Voice is transcribed using Apple's speech framework and resulting text is sent to OpenAI's API; the policy says OpenAI keeps it for up to 30 days and does not train on it. The App Store label says Data Not Collected (a developer declaration). No independent audit or open-source code was found.

### Not confirmed

Budget limits or envelopes; debt and credit-card handling; reconciliation; bank sync; precisely which features are free versus Pro (the vendor homepage and store description differ); independent reviews. Only 1 App Store rating exists, so reliability is hard to judge. A different app with the same name exists for Android; it is not this listing.

### Notes

The iPad version also runs on Mac and Vision via iPad compatibility; it is not a native Mac app. Ratings are set separately against a shared rubric.

## Sources

- [SpendMind homepage (features and free-tier statement)](https://www.spendmind.co/) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
- [SpendMind privacy policy (voice processing, data storage and retention)](https://www.spendmind.co/privacy-policy) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
- [SpendMind terms (subscription and import/export terms)](https://www.spendmind.co/terms-and-conditions) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
- [US App Store listing (version history, privacy label and in-app prices)](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/spendmind-ai-expense-tracker/id6754249390) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
- [Alternative App Store storefront (older regional listing text)](https://apps.apple.com/cz/app/expense-tracker-spendmindai/id6754249390) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
- [AlternativeTo name collision (different budgeting product; not this iOS app)](https://alternativeto.net/software/spendmind/about/) (retrieved 2026-10-15)
